Wednesday, December 31, 2008

It's Only Cheating If You Get Caught

At least that's what the NBA is showing with their ruling on a very strange play in last night's Celtics/Blazers game. Now Raquel has explained to me that situations like this occur in hockey all the time. They're called "power plays." I'm learnding! But as far as I know, there are no power plays in basketball. Yet somehow, the Blazers put six men on the court last night, scored a basket, and the officials COUNTED IT! Let's go to the video tape! Check it out at about 0:45 in:



Portland was assessed a technical foul after the fact, but because the officials didn't notice the 6th man until after the basket was made, they couldn't waive it off (those new fangled scoreboards!). A call was also made to the league office during the stoppage, but they apparently shrugged and said they didn't know what to do.

From Doc Rivers: "They said you couldn't correct the play, which I still disagree with. But the problem was that we called around, we called the league, and they didn't have the answer, either. It is what it is. There is nothing we can do about it."

Awesome. David Stern must be so proud.

No comments: